Is it just me or is something off here…?

The following phrase is taken from the website of a local congregation advertising this past fall’s small group season:

“We are using Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller to guide our conversations about Jesus this season. “

Maybe this is nit-picky, but I can think of a different book that would be an infinitely better guide to conversing about Jesus than any other book around…

3 responses to “Is it just me or is something off here…?

  1. I really enjoyed reading Blue Like Jazz but you’re right there is another book that would be better suited for that…

    you’re talking about “Body Prayer” by Doug Pagitt right?

  2. I found Blue Like Jazz troubling. Of course, to be fair, I didn’t read the whole book, I just skimmed several chapters in Barnes and Noble.

    And, Ben, I don’t think she was referring to “Body Prayer” by DP, I think she was referring to “The Secret Message of Jesus.” by BM.

  3. I should clarify that I wasn’t really commenting on “Blue Like Jazz” as much as I was commenting on the fact that a group would look to ANY book other than the Bible as something to guide their conversation about Jesus…really, it probably would have bothered me if it said “Mere Christianity” or “Don’t Waste Your Life” instead of BLJ.

    That being said, I did read “Blue Like Jazz” quite awhile ago – long ago enough that I can remember thinking some parts were OK and some parts were really not – but I’d have to read it again before I could tell you why… 🙂

    As I was thinking about this post, the question came to me “How would using “Blue Like Jazz” to guide conversation about Jesus be any different than going through a Bible study or book together as a church group? There’s nothing wrong with THAT, right?”. Here’s my thought: there is a big difference between using a book to help guide you through the Bible (i.e. to help you dig deeper INTO the Bible) and using a book to guide your conversation ABOUT the Bible – without pointing you to the Bible itself. Also, it just seems strangely second-hand to let a book other than the Bible guide your conversation about it’s Hero. I don’t know. It just seemed a little off to me and got me thinking, that’s all I’m sayin’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

