A Midsummer Night’s Blog

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, and I can no longer bear to have that ridiculous video be what people first see when they visit my blog, so I thought I would type a quick something to update, even though I don’t have much to say. I haven’t blogged much this summer, so maybe I’ll share an update on life (which you may or may not be interested in! :)).

Life is good! It has been such a fun summer. As much as I miss many of my friends at the store, I have no regrets over quitting. I am thoroughly enjoying having a couple of extra days a week to rest, spend time with Mark, visit with friends, hang out at the pool (I love the pool :)) and stay (somewhat) caught up on life before the chaos ensues this fall in a whole new (& wonderful) way. 🙂  I have joined a small, Wednesday morning neighborhood Bible study which has been a real treat – it consists of 5 ladies representing 4 different stages of life, which is a unique combination these days, but most certainly a blessing!

Other events of the summer: we had a lovely little vacation up to Cross Lake a few weeks back (I will try to post a few pictures soon), we celebrated a fun 4th of July with our families, and last weekend my siblings and I hosted a party in celebration of my parents 30th anniversary. Not a whole lot of travel left in the summer – just a quick trip to Ames next weekend to visit Mark’s brother & family, and then another weekend trip back down there in a couple of week’s for Mark’s cousin’s wedding.

We continue to ANXIOUSLY await the arrival of our little boy. Some days it feels like the pregnancy is clipping right along, but mostly it seems to feel like it will be FOREVER before we’ll get to welcome him home! We can’t wait. We’ve been prepping the nursery (last night we got our little closet drawer system assembled and I filled it with his clothes :), and we have begun our childbirth class (part 1 was last Saturday, part 2 will be this coming Sat.). So far the class seems to be very informative – in spite of being, yes, a bit gross and more than a little scary. But I guess that’s part of childbirth. 🙂 It does help to have simple questions answered (like “how do we know when to call the midwife?!”) as well as just having the process explained more clearly to us from someone at the actual hospital where we will be delivering. We also did some breathing exercises (you know, “hee-hee-hoooooo”…just like on TV) …which I’ve heard you tend to throw out the window once you’re actually giving birth :), but who knows…maybe some pieces of it will come in handy!! At any rate, it’s fun to know that we’re approaching the end, even if it doesn’t always feel like it. We are so thankful that the pregnancy has been going well, so far. I’ve been doing OK – my belly’s just getting larger and I’m feeling a bit more cumbersome, tired, achy…etc. But it’s ALL normal and ALL good, I know, so I’m happy! 🙂

…crazy to think that a year from now we’ll have a 10 month old!!

Anyway, this post has become rather long and rambly, but maybe it’s better than that creepy alien video. 🙂 Here’s hoping that you are enjoying a fun & beautiful summer, wherever you are!

Leave a Reply

