Fun Times

I’m sitting here at the dining room table reflecting on a fun and full week. Here’s the rundown:

LAST WEEKEND: Mark & I traveled to Ames to celebrate his cousin Courtney’s wedding. We stayed with his brother and family, and enjoyed a fun and relaxing weekend, culminating with the wedding on Saturday. My sister-in-law is always such a fantastic hostess…she never seems to tire of allowing guests to stay with their family (though I’m sure she must!) and our stay with them is always full of good food, laughs and conversation.

TUESDAY: My friend Stacie and her two adorable kiddos came over for lunch, and we had some good conversation – plus, her kids got to put some of our baby toys to use, which was fun to see. 🙂

Then, that night we headed down to the Dakota County fair to see my friend Ashley sing with her choir, “Special Delivery”. It was fun to see them perform, and I was so proud of her for being a part of it. It was also just fun to get to go to the fair! I’d never been to this one before. It’s essentially a mini-State Fair (tons of food, a little midway, games, animals, barns, etc.) And considering the condition I’ll likely be in by the time the REAL State Fair rolls around this year, probably the closest I’ll get to it for the season! 😦

WEDNESDAY we had a midwife appointment, which went well – Praise God! Never having been pregnant before, appointments are always a little bit nervewracking, as I have no idea if what I’m experiencing is a normal pregnancy, or if bedrest is on my horizon. You just never know! We were also quietly worried that the baby was sitting in a sideways position, and were afraid that at this point in the pregnancy, such a thing would not be good. In fact, Tuesday night I spent some time in the “Inverted Position” (i.e. sitting upside down – knees on the couch, forearms resting on a pillow on the floor). We’d heard this was a great technique for getting the baby to turn, so we thought we’d give it a shot. It looked quite comical, no-doubt, and was definitely somewhat uncomfortable, but it may have worked…? By the time of our appointment, our midwife was quite sure baby’s head was down, and that even if it wasn’t, we have nothing to worry about at this point.

We followed up our appointment with an impromptu visit to the Stone Arch bridge, followed by a drive to the campus of the U, to observe some of the wreckage from the collapse. It was very sobering, to say the least, to drive across the 4th street overpass, which lies almost directly over — well, just to the north — of the beginnings of the portion of 35 that is now rubble. Having traveled this stretch of road countless times myself (and Mark having lived BLOCKS from this spot in college), I was stunned. Who would have ever pictured this happening?

Wednesday night I stopped over at the Bloomington pool, as has become a nearly daily ritual. With the heat index so high this summer, that place has been my refuge!!! I never realized just how good it would feel on this pregnant bod to swim! Not once have I had any difficulty adjusting to the sometimes frigid temperatures of the pool water. It’s great, and I’m already mourning the fact that it will close for the season on August 19! Hopefully, by then, the temperatures will be on their way down…

THURSDAY my mom, sisters and I took a little road trip to the Medford Outlet mall. We spent the afternoon perusing all the different shops and getting some great deals in the process. I got some great stuff for baby (and me :)) at the Gap, Carters, and Old Navy outlets – including an outfit for baby to come home from the hospital in! Mostly, it was just a fun “girls day” – the kind of thing we don’t do too often (but hope we do again!).

Tonight I am on my own, as Mark is at a friends house to celebrate the upcoming wedding of his dear friend, Josh. Josh – and his fiance, Allie – are such cool people. They are both on staff with Campus Crusade, ministering on college campuses. Tonight’s “bachelor party” sounds like a neat time of fun activities planned to bless them in lots of ways, and Mark is excited to be a part of it – especially as we are so sad that we won’t be able to be a part of their wedding (it’s in Chicago and just 12 days before our due date — too close to travel 😦 ). So…I spent the evening getting random activities done. Made a stop at my old store…made a Target run to finish picking up all the essentials I’ll need for my hospital bag…stopped at Blockbuster to drop off some movies and rented a decidedly mindless chick flick (“Must Love Dogs”…I’ve heard it’s good, and it has one of my favorite actors in it – John Cusack – so it can’t be all bad…??). 🙂 So, if you don’t mind, I think I’m going to go jump into some comfy jammies, crack open my box of Sweettarts, and settle in front of the TV to watch what could potentially be a pretty dumb movie. 🙂 Goodnight & happy weekend!!

Leave a Reply

