Feeling a Little Off-Kilter

It’s been a weird couple of days, for at least a couple of reasons. For one thing, sleep has become more and more elusive. For the past several nights I’ve found myself waking up in the middle of the night and finding great difficulty in falling back asleep. Sometimes it’s due to sheer discomfort…sometimes it’s due to Beeper’s kicks…sometimes it’s due to thunder rattling the windows…sometimes it’s a combination of factors…sometimes it’s for no apparent reason at all! I am convinced that God is preparing me for the life of a newborn’s mother — but at the same time it is extra challenging, especially since I can’t yet reap the rewards of at least having a precious little cutie to hold in my arms, reminding me it’s all worthwhile. (Soon enough, I know… :)). Yesterday I really began to feel the lack of sleep taking it’s toll…I was tired and “out-of-it” virtually all day.

Then, last night I was sleeping quite soundly when I was awakened to the sound of thunder, the persistent flickering of lightning, and my husband telling me that the power had just gone out. Upon a quick look out the window, where we saw the wind bending our front shrubbery around, we determined that although there were no sirens that we could hear, it might be best to head downstairs for a few minutes, just until things died down outside. We’re sure glad we did! When we awoke this morning, the power was still out, and our neighborhood was a disaster! Leaves and branches everywhere, and some large trees fallen – some even uprooted! Thankfully our trees managed to remain intact, other than a few clusters of leaves that fell to the ground. And we discovered a large reason our power and phone were out – it was probably due to the large tree that had fallen on the power and phone lines one block over! Yikes! The power remained out all day…I finally called Xcel at around 2:00 this afternoon, and was told not to expect power until 3:00 tomorrow afternoon! Double yikes!

No power + lack of sleep + pregnancy = a girl who feels a little off-kilter. And who has bad hair (I couldn’t blow dry or straighten it. I know, I know…boo-hoo… :)).

The bright spot of today was that I got to spend the day with my friend Bethany, who was visiting from Nashville. We ate at Noodles (there are no Noodles in Nashville 😦 ), came back to our house and chatted for a couple hours in the dark (and warm – no AC!) living room, went out to eat at Snuffy’s diner, stopped by Northwestern Books and then Caribou (no Caribou’s in Nashville, either!). It was a fun time – here are a couple pictures from the day.

2977.jpg

2979.jpg

The extra happy ending to the story: when Mark & I returned from dropping Bethany off tonight, the power was back on! It was a Christmas miracle!!! 🙂

As you can see, I’m still a little off-kilter…I think I’ll head in the direction of my bed. 🙂

One response to “Feeling a Little Off-Kilter

  1. Random question….but isn’t this your friend Bethany who went to my high school, Fourth Baptist, for a while? For some reason, when I saw the picture of her, I thought that…who knows? Maybe I’m totally confused! 🙂

Leave a Reply

