Why I’m a Single Issue Voter

hol·o·caust  [holuh-kawst, hoh-luh]  –noun

1. a great or complete devastation or destruction, esp. by fire.
2. a sacrifice completely consumed by fire; burnt offering.
3. (usually initial capital letter) the systematic mass slaughter of European Jews in Nazi concentration camps during World War II (usually prec. by the).
4. any mass slaughter or reckless destruction of life.

We’ve got our own, modern day holocaust happening here on our very own soil. It’s one that has been quietly been taking place in hundreds of little clinics all across our nation, non-stop for the past 35 years.

The horrifying Nazi holocaust slaughtered roughly 11 million.

This one has slaughtered 42 million – and counting.

Today marks the 35th anniversary of the Roe v. Wade decision, which legalized abortion in the United States.

I just saw a headline that said that in 2007, abortions were down to 2.1 million. DOWN.

I raise this topic not to take issue with any women who have had abortions. I hope and pray they find healing and peace in the loving arms of Christ.

Here’s who I do take issue with:

  • I take issue with a multi-billion dollar industry that lies to women, telling them that abortion is a decision that will affect only their body.
  • I take issue with a multi-billion dollar industry that makes it’s money off of the taking of innocent life – in often brutal ways.
  • I take issue with politicians who live in denial of the slaughter and vow to keep this practice “safe and legal” if they are elected.
  • I take issue with a culture that has decided that it’s OK to let this practice continue legally – and that it’s a practice worth defending.
  • I take issue with Christians who act a little embarrassed by those who speak up about abortion and and tell me and those like me that we’re foolish to be so concerned about this issue and label pro-lifers as “right wing nuts”

This election season, there are a lot of important issues on the table. Our world is in a dire state. However, in my opinion, there are no issues so critical as this one. Nothing else – no war, no famine, no terrorist – is killing this many people legally.

Did you know we are only one supreme court vote away from being able to overturn Roe v. Wade completely?

That’s why the choice of our next president is especially critical.

This is why I will do all in my power to refuse to vote for a candidate who is pro-choice, in the same way that I would refuse to vote for a candidate who was pro-holocaust or pro-slavery. If it comes down to it, and God-forbid, I am forced to choose between two pro-choice candidates, I will choose the person who I believe will be the most likely to make a pro-life court nomination.

Thanks for indulging me as I stand on this soap-box…I simply ask you to consider these thoughts as you make your decision on who to vote for!

2 responses to “Why I’m a Single Issue Voter

  1. I agree, Nikki! Keep preaching.

  2. I’m with you… see here and here for my thoughts about this topics as it relates to the current group of Republicans.

Leave a Reply

