Sick Week, Pre-Pick-a-Pile, & Will’s Grand Adventure

Well it has been one crazy, yucky week in the Wallace household, on account of my acquisition of the loveliest of bugs: the stomach bug. I’ll spare you the details, but I’ll just say that it left me with a new appreciation for a husband who loves me so much that he will sleep on the office floor so that I can have the bed to myself (and have Nick at Nite on all night), parents who are willing to stop what they are doing at the drop of a hat to help care for my baby (& me!) and a baby who somehow seemed to even know to “go easy on mom” in the middle of the night!

I also learned that it will be a long time before I have another Chipotle soft shell chicken taco.

Anyway, my plan for this post was to play “pick a pile”. This is a game that my lovely mother began on her blog, in which you pick a “pile” (i.e. mess) in your house, post a picture of it,  clean said pile, and then post the after picture. It’s really quite gratifying, even to look at someone else’s pick-a-pile’s. So yesterday I decided to play pick-a-pile with the bedroom, since it had served as a virtual cave for my sick little self for the last few days and was quite…gross. So I dutifully took my “before” picture, and began cleaning. However, as it turns out, my body still hadn’t quite recovered from my illness, and after about 15 minutes of cleaning, decided I’d had enough and needed a nap. So I never got around to taking the “after” picture – and let me tell you, there’s nothing more depressing than a “pre-pick-a-pile” picture that doesn’t have a “post-pick-a-pile” picture! So…we’ll play pick-a-pile later.

ANYWAY, in other news, today was a big day, as it was the first day warm enough for Will & I to do a little “exploring” outside (OK, “exploring” is a generous word…really, we just walked around the driveway for a few minutes). Still, it was a treat to see him get his first up-close look at simple things like branches and rocks! Here is a picture from our adventure:

7127.jpg

5 responses to “Sick Week, Pre-Pick-a-Pile, & Will’s Grand Adventure

  1. So I never got around to taking the “after” picture – and let me tell you, there’s nothing more depressing than a “pre-pick-a-pile” picture that doesn’t have a “post-pick-a-pile” picture!

    Ha, ha, ha. I have a few pre-photos that don’t have post-photos, too, and I wasn’t sick this week!
    Love you.

  2. Oops, I was trying to put your quote in italics and apparently don’t know how to do that yet so the whole thing came out in italics.

    Also, cute photo!

  3. CUTE picture.

    I might have to play this “pick-a-pile” game. Mine might be called “pick-a-mountain”, though. Sigh. 🙂

    You are such a cute mom! 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing the sweet picture! And hurray for being able to go outside!!

    We had company all weekend, so I played stash-the-piles, which means tomorrow I get to play dig-out-the-piles. Don’t you wish we could just wiggle our nose and zap-the-piles?

  5. Could you and Will be ANY more adorable than that?! 🙂 Cute pic!

Leave a Reply

