In Defense of My Pick-a-Pile

It has come to my attention that there are some who feel that my previous pick-a-pile posting did not feature anything that constituted a true “pile”. In reviewing said pick-a-pile, I can understand where they are coming from. There were only a few items on the table, after all, and it didn’t take me long to clean it up. However, I would also ask you to bear these facts in mind:

1). There are 3 people who live in this house: 2 adults and one not-yet-mobile child. There really is no excuse for a pile of any size, unless it is of baby toys.

2). Why I feel the need to defend my ability to create piles, I don’t know. Nevertheless, feast your eyes on this horrific pile that was our bedroom at the very same time as the table pictures, approximately 2 weeks ago* – and note that there is no “after” picture! (cue “Psycho” music):

7113.jpg

*I should admit that this is what the room looked like after I holed up in it like a sick dog for several days. It’s recovered since then (as have I)…though at present there are a couple of actual piles in there.

Yes, indeed…rest assured that this house regularly contains more than one true pile to be picked. One of these days I’ll pick another one. (Actually, my darling hubby has picked a few really bad piles over the past couple weeks for me…he just didn’t take pictures).

 

One response to “In Defense of My Pick-a-Pile

  1. Oh, no. I’ve created a monster.

    Pick a pile is a game to do for fun. You know…like when Mary Poppins sings:

    “In every job that must be done there is an element of fun, You find the fun and *snap* the job’s a game…”

    The rules allow you to choose one pile of your choice. It can be a teeny pile. And, you get to focus in on it thereby ignoring the mounds of piles nearby. That’s part of the game.

    When you finish your pile, whether teeny or big, you win! You don’t need to show us your other piles and I don’t need to show you mine (although you’ve lived here so you are aware of them!)

Leave a Reply

