The Way We Found Out

It’s late and I’m having some trouble getting to sleep, so I thought I’d tell the story of how we found out I was pregnant this go-around. It’s a bit unusual.

On Sunday, August 3rd, I was feeling a little sad…a little melancholy…a little wistful, and for reasons I’m still not altogether sure of (I had no symptoms whatsoever), I remembered I had an extra home pregnancy test in the bathroom cupboard – and decided to take it.

Much to my surprise, it was positive.

My shock and delight, however, was quickly tempered as I realized that, for many reasons, it could have very well been a “false positive” result. Still…there was no way of knowing for sure, right at that moment, so I needed to tell my husband…

I have a history of sharing this type of news with my husband in, shall we say “not-so-special” ways (i.e. running into the kitchen and blurting out “I’m pregnant!”). I’d vowed that whenever the time came to share this news with him again, I would make it meaningful. So I ran over to the local Hallmark, grabbed a card, and presented it to him at dinner. It was definitely more special than blurting it out…but still, a card that says “I MIGHT be pregnant, but probably not” just doesn’t pack the same punch as having a more definitive announcement to share.

We decided that we would wait a week or two to see what unfolded before calling my doctor to schedule a blood test.

2 days later, I called the dr. to schedule a blood test.

2 days after that — on a Thursday afternoon — I went to the dr. for my blood test. My doctor is a very sweet woman, who knew I’d had a difficult month and assured me that she would try to get the results of my test before the weekend.

That evening, I went with my sister Katie and parents to First Ave (a music club located downtown) to see She and Him (To clarify, She and Him is a musical duo; not a pair of random pronouns I decided to throw into my post). The “She” in She and Him is Zooey Deschanel — better known as Jovie from Elf. The “Him” in She and Him is M. Ward, who apparently is a famous and accomplished musician in his own right, which I’m sure I would have known if I was up on all that is trendy in the grassroots music world. But I’m not, and had never heard of him before. Anyway, I like their music alot, so I was very excited to get to see them live! We got there early and staked out our spot on the floor in front of the stage (because, you know, we Dugans are real moshers). It was there that I decided to check my voice mail on my cell. There was one message, and it went something like this:

“Hi…this is Dr. _______________, and I’m just calling to let you know that…the results are back, and they’re 436….so that’s good…!”.

(Translation: 436 = pregnant. The dr. was trying as best she could to discreetly leave a message telling me I was pregnant!)

There I was, standing on the dance floor of a dark and loud music club, with my sister and parents, and I just found out I was pregnant.

Needless to say, this was not exactly the time nor the place I’d ever pictured receiving such news! I wanted to jump for joy, but for obvious reasons, had to contain my excitement. Still, I needed to figure out how to tell my husband the news! There really wasn’t a good corner to go call him from…and we were trying to save our spots on the floor…

And that is the story of how my husband learned of my pregnancy via text message.

The concert went on, and it was great. Here is a picture that was in the paper next day. We were standing somewhere in the yellow oval:

(side note: check out the lady playing bass. It’s kind of hard to see in this picture, but she was WAY pregnant!)

After the concert, we went to Hard Rock for a bite to eat, and a funny thing happened. When the waitress came to take our drink orders, I quickly grabbed the menu, scanned it to no avail, and finally just ordered a raspberry lemonade. Then, just as soon as she’d walked away, I looked down at my menu. Much to my shock and horror, I realized I’d had it open to the cocktail page – and that the first cocktail on the menu was called “Raspberry Lemonade”! This put me in a pickle. Had she ordered me the cocktail, or just a regular old raspberry lemonade? To me, there was a BIG difference. Obviously, alcoholic beverages & I weren’t going to mix at that point! I casually mentioned to the others (while panicking inside) that I wasn’t sure if the beverage I’d ordered was non-alcoholic. “Oh, I’m sure you’ll know after the first sip,” my mom said. Um, that’s not going to fly, I thought. No sips for me! The waitress finally brought my drink, and I swallowed my pride and asked her if it was non-alcoholic. It WASN’T! Yikes! So I apologized, explained my error, and she took it away. I felt kind of bad…under other circumstances, I would have probably just kept it. But, then again, these were pretty good circumstances to be in, so I wasn’t about to complain. And I tried to be extra nice to the waitress the rest of the night. 🙂

So…that’s the story of how we found out we were expecting our little bean. Now it’s your turn. How did you find out your kids were on the way, and how did you share the news with your spouse?

p.s. to close, here’s a video of one of my favorite She and Him songs:

4 responses to “The Way We Found Out

  1. Great story, Nikki! I loved the video, too! I’ve always liked Zooey’s voice, but I don’t have any She & Him – maybe I’ll have to get some. Also, I’m really glad you’re 436. 😉 Love you and hope to see you soon! (after we move this weekend – it’s been a little crazy)

  2. Well, the first time I was on my way out the door to a baby shower. I had taken two false negative tests, and had gone to the doctor to find out for sure, but hadn’t talked to DH yet (no cell phones for us back then.) So I told him in passing as I left the house and he was coming home. He said he immediately left the house and went by himself to the closest TGI Fridays bar. When he told he bartender he’d just found out he was going to be a dad for the first time, the bartender paid for his drink. The second time, I put the stick on his dinner plate. He didn’t know what it was so I had to explain it to him. After the brief celebration, DH asked me to give him new food on a different plate because he didn’t want to eat off the plate with that particular stick on it – if you know what I mean. I don’t remember the third time. The fourth time, I was in a similar situation as you. I had found out in the morning but hadn’t had a chance to tell him all day. That evening we went to a wedding, and he bought me a Mike’s Hard Lemonade. I had to sneak the drinks to a friend because I didn’t want to tell him at the wedding. I think I told him the next day. Blessings.

  3. And of course I was a big help…

    “Nikki! Just drink the lemonade! It’s not that big of a deal! GOSH!”

    Oops…but there was no one else I would have wanted to go to the concert with except you!

  4. Hi Nikki! SWEET! 🙂 I LOVE the story …… I love that you were going to wait 1-2 weeks before contacting the doctor and yet, after 2 days, you made the call! 🙂 Sweet!

    Let’s see, with #1 …. I was like, “You know, I don’t feel good…..” kind of all month…..and I took the test, opened the bathroom door, and there was Casey to share in the excitement.

    With #2 I didn’t feel well from the get-go and yet the second line on the test wasn’t really a line — but it was — but it wasn’t…..so when I called the doctor to say, “Hi…um, I don’t know if I’m pregnant; there’s a line, but there’s not, if I turn it a little then I can see it — it’s kind of like a hologram!” the nurse was like, “Well, thanks for the story … any line is positive, whether it’s really faint or not.” I remember Casey was home because we looked like a bunch of goofs trying to determine if the line was REALLY a line.

    I can’t wait to see you sometime soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

