Ever Had a “What Did I Just Say?” Moment?

The following is a transcript of the conversation between myself and the teenage grocery-bagger at Lund’s as he was wheeling my groceries out to my car this evening:

Lund’s Kid: How are you tonight?

Me: Fine, thanks. It’s cold!

Lund’s Kid: Yeah. I see it’s starting to snow.

Me (suddenly absentminded): Yeah, finally!

Lund’s Kid (sounding confused): Er, um, I was thinking it’s actually a bit early for snow for my taste…

Me (thinking): Did I just say “finally?!” Where did THAT come from?!

I don’t remember how the conversation ended. I do know I tried to salvage my comment, saying something like “Well, um, after all the ice today it’s nice to finally see some snow…”, which only made matters worse.I think I made a couple of different attempts like that, which really dug the hole deeper. Β 

The kid never said another word. He quickly loaded the groceries in my trunk and then wheeled his cart away, with nary a “have a good night”. It was as if he knew I wasn’t quite right in the head and wanted to get away as quickly as possible.

I can’t really blame him. I think pregnancy brain is setting in.

Anyway, surely I can’t be the only one to have had a “What Did I Just Say?” moment. What’s yours?

4 responses to “Ever Had a “What Did I Just Say?” Moment?

  1. Ok, Nikki. This is embarrassing, but since you shared, here you go. The other night I was waiting on these 4 really nice girls in their mid-20’s (remember mid-20’s?). They left me a pretty big cash tip, and I went back to ask them if they were sure they didn’t need any change. They said that they didn’t, and one girl said “You were just really good”, and then she winked. I said “Wow, thanks”, and she winked again! So at this point I’m thinking she’s pretty funny, and I say “One more wink, and I’ll give you my phone number.” Instant nervous laughter, and the lighthearted mood was broken up a little bit. Then I felt dumb and didn’t want to go back there until after they’d left. I thought we were all joking around and that they’d go with me on it, but not so much. So there you have it – my “What did I just say?” moment. Of the week at least. πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey! I didn’t know you had a blog. Thanks for stopping by mine.
    -sarah

    ps. I’ll have to include you on my christmas mix cd list this year. πŸ˜‰

  3. I think it would be funny if this kid had a blog ….. imagine what his post would read…… πŸ™‚

    Cute story.

  4. Hi there! It was nice to spen some time “catching up” with you! Patricia mentioned to me last night that you were pregnant again, and I wanted to say how happy I am for you guys…and by the way, Will looks so cute! I love his big blue eyes!

Leave a Reply

