A New Year’s Contest

Inspired by this article I read on boundless.com,  I realized that reading used to be one of my top hobbies, but lately, in the wake of the internet and other distractions, it’s dropped to the bottom of my list. I decided that one of my new year’s resolutions would be to read as many books as I possible can during 2009.

Then I realized that 3 months from now I will have a newborn AND a 19-month-old to care for, and reading anything but the Bible – out of a need for survival – will likely be the farthest thing from my mind.

Clearly I’m going to need a little accountability if I’m going to get back into the habit of reading a lot. So I thought I’d use my blog to host a little “reading contest”, ala Bush/Rove (see the previously mentioned Boundless article). Here’s how it will work:

1. Every Wednesday (or somewhere around Wednesday) I will create a blog post entitled “Bookworm Wednesday”. On this day I will post any books I may have completed during that week (or where I’m at in my reading) and possibly a brief book review of what I’ve read. I’ll then invite anyone who wants to to comment with what they’ve read/are reading and, if they’d like, a brief review of the book.

2. For those who would really like to get serious (and I hope there are at least a few of you!), whenever you see a “Bookworm Wednesday” post, feel free to comment with however many books you have completed so far, so we all know where you’re at and what we have to compete with.

(*One idea to help you keep track is to use goodreads.com, where you can keep track of what you’ve read/what you’re reading/etc.).)

On Dec 31, 2009, we’ll see who has read the most books! And the winner will recieve….

…I don’t know yet. Probably just the satisfaction of knowing they read more than anyone else.

How does this sound? Any questions? Who’s in?

3 responses to “A New Year’s Contest

  1. Jennie Hohnstadt

    I’m in! 🙂 I’m always trying to read more books and I did find with Anna that it is possible to feed a baby and read a book at the same time (at least when they get a little older and aren’t so floppy). I’ve got a stack of books I’ve been wanting to get to so this’ll be fun!

  2. Pingback: Bookworm Wednesday (on Thursday) «

  3. Pingback: Resolutions & Me «

Leave a Reply

