A Little Political

OK, allow me to get just a little political for a moment here.

There are, obviously, a lot of things happening in our country now that shouldn’t be happening…and, in the grand scheme of things, I realize that this is — morally speaking, at least — somewhere down at the bottom of the priority list.

HOWEVER, as a fan of:

1) Cute, artsy homemade goods (including homemade goods for babies/kids)

2) Small businesses (not to mention an employee of one)

3) Small government

I was troubled to read about the CPSIA, which will go into effect very soon

You can this article about it here. If it is at all correct, then…

well, STINKY-POO!

I want to be able to buy cute dollies from my friend Sarah and baby blankets from my friend Karin and all sorts of other cute things from other creative people I know, without the government stepping in with their too-big feet! And maybe someday I’d want to be able to sell my own little creations somewhere (well, if I learned to sew, that is…).

Oh yes, and I’d like to continue to be able to take my children to the library to get books!

Anyway, read the article and let me know if you see some glimmer of light in it that I am missing.

All I hear is a big foghorn (I think only my parents and siblings get that).

3 responses to “A Little Political

  1. I agree wholeheartedly! I sent an email warning a lot of people about this and none of them really took it seriously. There has been clarification that it doesn’t include “resellers” or “thrift” shops. (I think though that only the really big ones and the chains are going to continue to be around. It will cripple the individual and mom-&-pop ones.) But, there are so many self-employed, stay-at-home, homeschooling families that are going to be decimated by this. The worst thing is that it was spearheaded and written by our very own Senator Amy Klobuchar! Instead of doing the common sense thing (stop buying from China if they don’t raise their standards) she decided that bringing us one step closer to being a nazi nanny state would be the better bet. And she because she is “oh-so-family-friendly” she thought this would save more children than it would harm.

    Everyone needs to write their representatives and tell them that this law needs some major clarification. This must be done for the sake of family values and people’s abililty to spend conservatively and wisely. Thanks for bringing it up.

    Blessings.

  2. Ummmm, I don’t know what to say, I can’t think, there is a very loud foghorn sounding in my brain…

  3. I think people are overreacting here. I am sure tu government will take into consideration such things as handmade baby clothes. This is terrible for most small businesses yes, but I feel that perhaps the law is being taken much too seriously by mothers.

Leave a Reply

