Bookworm Wednesday (on Thursday)

So it’s only week 1 of my “Bookworm Wednesday” initiative (read more about it here) and I’m already a day late in posting. Oh well.

Anyway, here’s where I’m at with my reading. So far this year I have completed 2 books (that I happened to start in 2008 )! The books I have completed so far are:

“Persuasion” by Jane Austen. I’ve always been a Jane Austen fan, but for some reason I had trouble getting into this book…it just didn’t grip me like some of her others have. Maybe I was just in a funk, I don’t know. I think a lot of it had to do with the fact that I had difficulty following who was who and how they were related (I’m still not sure who Mrs. Clay was). Maybe I was just too distracted by the hustle and bustle of the holidays to really read it with the focus it deserved, I don’t know. It was an interesting enough story with a sweet ending, but…it was just alright for me, dawg (can you tell Idol started this week?).

“Disciplines of a Beautiful Woman” by Anne Ortlund. I am in the process of reading “The Gentle Ways of a Beautiful Woman” by Anne Ortlund, which is a compilation of 3 of her books, the first of which is this one. It was pretty good. I heard her on the radio a few months ago, and enjoyed it so much I wanted to read her books. She has a very fun, relatable, yet “hit-you-between-the-eyes” style of writing that I enjoy. The downside to this book is that while it consists mainly of very “practical” tips for leading an orderly, godly lifestyle from the inside out, many of which were good, some of the really practical ones were somewhat outdated. Still it was a fine read.

So…now I am onto 2 other books: “Disciplines of the Heart” by Anne Ortlund (which I am enjoying much more than her first one) and “Twilight”. Yes, “Twilight”. I have jumped on the bandwagon, and I must say that so far I am hooked.

Also, I should probably mention that I am working my way through the Bible this year! I decided to follow the ESV Study Bible plan for reading the Bible in one year, and am on day 15 with no missed days, which is unprecedented (sadly)!

And, as for books I WANT to read…”Marley & Me” by John Grogan is what comes to mind right now. Loved that movie, and am intrigued by the book!

So that’s what I’ve been reading…

…what about YOU?!

Comment away!

2 responses to “Bookworm Wednesday (on Thursday)

  1. I read Disciplines of a Beautiful woman years ago. I remember liking the book, but being troubled by some of her chapter intros where she would say things like, “As I sit here on a writing retreat looking out over a gorgeous beach in Hawaii, I am reminded that God…” I seem to remember her being in several exotic places as she wrote that book and it distracted me from the rest of the content which I thought was great.

    Did she edit those intros out in the later editions?

    On a personal level, I was very impressed with her thoughtfulness since she was one of two authors ever to write dad a thank you note for designing a book cover, so God bless her! (The other author was Joni Erickson Tada).

  2. Last week I read “Music and the Church”by David Pass, which is a revision of his Ph.D. dissertation. It is a theology of church music and a thought-provoking book. Although it’s written in technical language he brings out the basis for church music which must come out of the mission of the church.

    I finished the “Book of Bebb”by Frederick Buechner this month, but I’d started reading it while on furlough in the USA in 2008. It is actually four novels in one volume, so at least I can say I read the last two novels in 2009. It has a delightful cast of colorful, strange, yet believable characters.

    “The Quotidian Mysteries: Laundry, Liturgy and ‘Women’s Work'” by Kathleen Norris. This is actually the text of the 1998 Madeleva Lecture in Spirituality, so it isn’t exactly a book. It is 4 1/2″ x 6 3/4″ and 88 pages in length, but a worthy text and a must for all women to read! I fell in love with Kathleen Norris’ “Dakota” that I had to read for a class at Wheaton.

    My light, bathroom reading at the moment is “Forever Erma” –a compilation of her best columns published after her death. Great for keeping life from getting too serious.

    Am also reading “Eight Choices That Will Change a Woman’s Life” by Jill Briscoe. (Cover design by Terry Dugan!) Easy reading, but insightful.

Leave a Reply

