New Music

Well, guess what, folk(s). It has happened. I have put my iTunes gift card to use.

My children made it easy for me. You see, apparently they read my blog, because Friday night my hubby came home bearing “thank you mommy” gifts that the kids had bought me. W got me the “Once” soundtrack and S got me an Ingrid  Michaelson CD. Don’t they have great taste? 🙂 And the fact that I got them in CD form gave me the huge bonus of also receiving the CD packaging. As a designer, the idea of getting music without the artwork to go along with it is a difficult thing to adjust to, and will probably keep me primarily in the CD era for a long time to come…like people who still listen to records (because they don’t want to let go; not because it’s cool to be retro). To me, the CD’s artwork is part of the musical package (figuratively and literally). Before I’d ever listened to Jars of Clay’s first CD, I got a feel for what they were like from the faded blues and greens, the black & white photography and the recycled paper of their CD insert. “Acoustic and organic”, it said to me. And it was.

But I digress.

Anyway, seeing that my children knocked 2 CDs off of my CD “wish list”, my wish list became much shorter. Too short, actually, as it only left 1 CD that I could think of that I wanted. Then I watched a movie yesterday that reminded me I’d wanted it’s soundtrack, so…problem solved!

In case you Regardless of whether or not you are interested, here is  the music I purchased  with my gift card:

• “The Story” by Brandi Carlile

• “The Dan in Real Life” soundtrack (which is mostly music by a guy named Sondre Lerche). I like this movie alot, and I love it’s soundtrack.

• “Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop” by Landon Pigg. I bet you think you’ve never heard this song. Think again. Do these lyrics ring a bell? “I think that possibly/maybe I’m falling for you“…yes folks, I purchased that song from the diamonds are forever commercial. I am not ashamed.

Leave a Reply

