Things I Love: Frozen Diced Grilled Chicken

Maybe someday I’ll post about something deep and meaningful.

I could post about what God’s been teaching me lately about leaving my fear in His hands.

I could post about the trials and triumphs I’ve found in parenting.

I could post about my trip to the ER yesterday after I bumped my head.

But I don’t feel like it (I’m OK, by the way).

Today I’m going to post about Frozen Diced Grilled Chicken.

Because to this busy mommy, who is openly open to finding shortcuts to cooking, this IS meaningful to me.

Seriously, so many meals that I like to make call for diced, cooked chicken breasts — which, up until now, meant that I had to add the extra steps of cooking and dicing the chicken — BEFORE I made the meal. Not to mention the thawing of the chicken that had to take place before the cooking of the chicken did.

I know, I know…cooking chicken breasts isn’t super HARD. But it’s an extra step in the cooking process, and…I’m going to be honest. I don’t always like cooking. Sometimes, for fun? Yes. Every single day out of sheer necessity when there are a million other things to do? Not so much.

So you can imagine what a (moderately) big deal it was to me to discover this at Target a couple weeks ago.

Photo on 2009-09-29 at 12.50 #3

(My apologies for the backwards picture. Do you like the cute little spokesmodel, though? :))

I am in love with this product.

Suddenly chicken pot pie is SO much easier. So is Chicken pasta and…well, anything else that involves cooked, diced chicken! Someone’s already cut & cooked the chicken for me — yay!

And…I don’t know what else to say. I just really like this invention and I thought you might too.

And it’s a good thing.

So…anyway…

3 responses to “Things I Love: Frozen Diced Grilled Chicken

  1. I totally know what you mean about cooking, and I don’t even have kids yet! This does sound like a really good thing. Another idea would be to cut and cook a whole bunch of chicken at one time, and then freeze it to use later. You could do it when you ARE in the mood to cook, and then have it ready for when you’re not.

  2. You know what, up until recently that was actually my plan…to do it all at once. It really is a good idea. But I have yet to find a time when I AM in the mood to cook and cut up a bunch of chicken! I’d rather channel that culinary energy into making a hearty soup or a rainbow cake. Yummm.

  3. A great product. I agree, cooking chicken seems so overwhelming. I recently learned a great method from Barefoot Contessa. Put two large (the Smart Chicken brand) bone-in chicken breasts on a pan (with sides). Put a little olive oil on each, salt and pepper them. Bake @375º for 40 minutes or so. Let cool slightly and the take off the meat. Makes about 4 cups. Somehow it seems easier than boiling chicken breasts. But the already cooked is easier!

Leave a Reply

