Finding Quiet in the Chaos: How do YOU do it?

My house has become increasingly chaotic over the last couple of years. Don’t get me wrong — the chaos is beautiful and so, so, SO much fun — but I confess my time spent in the Bible and in real, focused prayer have faltered…errr…OK, actually, the truth is I’ve NEVER been super disciplined in this area, and this recent increase in chaos hasn’t made it any easier.

I’ve been reassured that  “God understands where you are at in this season of your life”…and while I know this is true and that his grace is sufficient, I also know that my need for Him  has not diminished, and that my need for Him has only INCREASED. (It’s hard to pour into little lives when the pitcher’s empty!). I’m starting to see that I need to get creative. I can’t wait for 15 minute stretches of quiet to sit down, read my Bible and pray, because I don’t always get it. I’m thinking, however, that maybe I could be more intentional and “thinking outside the box” about seeking God throughout my day.

Does this make any sense? I’m not even sure. I’m just typing (I’m kind of liking this new “scribbling” approach to blogging.). Anyway, what I want to know is, especially if you are a mommy, what do YOU do to seek Him? How do you stay connected to Him even in the midst of your chaos? What does that look like for you? I’d love to hear your ideas & thoughts!

3 responses to “Finding Quiet in the Chaos: How do YOU do it?

  1. You could do like Susanna Wesley and pull your apron over your head when you want to pray…if you can find your apron. I love you.

  2. I know exactly what you’re talking about. People would say, “Don’t worry if you didn’t have a quiet time today… God understands.” And I DO believe He understands this crazy season of our lives! But it’s not that I feel required to do it…. I NEED it!!!

    So here are three different methods I’ve tried….

    * During the 1:00 naptime. I made sure I coordinated their nap schedules and then forced myself to not do the dishes or check email, but sit down with God FIRST, and then clean up (or do something else) when I was finished.

    * Mid-morning, while the baby was napping, I would have my [then] 3-year-old have blanket time or room time while I had a QT.

    * Getting up early… and I mean early. (My boys are up by 6:30.) That’s what I’m doing now…. and it’s quite a sacrifice! I have memorized Mark 8:34-36 (esp. verse 35… “If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it”) — which helps me at 5:45 a.m. to say, “Yeah, this IS worth getting up for.” I also try to get to bed “early” at night… say by 9:30 or 10:00… to make sure I can rise & shine (well, sometimes not so much “shining”) for my time with God! As much as I would rather stay in the warmth of my comfy bed, I actually prefer having my QT first thing in the AM…..

    Hope these ideas help! 🙂 I like your mom’s suggestion about pulling your apron over your head to pray. 🙂

    Sara

  3. Oh, speaking of aprons, Dad found your apron. Remember, the cute little yellow one that Carol made that has your name appliqued on it. I’ll try to remember to give it to you.

Leave a Reply

