Pray for My Friend

Today my friend Bethany is heavy on my heart. She is a precious old friend of mine — a roommate and kindred spirit at the camp we used to work at. A true woman of God. I’ve been so happy to keep in touch with her over the years. She and her husband, Dave, have been longing and praying for a baby for years. They signed up with an adoption agency, and have spent the past several months eagerly preparing for the arrival of a baby boy…showers were thrown, she left her job to stay home, Dave built a crib, the nursery was all ready to go.

On Friday the baby boy was born. Sunday afternoon, at the very last minute, the birthparents changed their mind. Bethany and Dave had one hour to spend with the baby before they had to head home.

I can’t imagine what they are going through right now, and I won’t even try.  I just know they need prayer, as does the little baby they had to leave behind. I keep thinking of more and more implications of this turn of events, and my heart just breaks for them more and more. Will you join me in praying for this precious couple?

One response to “Pray for My Friend

  1. My heart breaks for them! I can’t imagine the pain they’re going through right now – they are in my prayers and on my heart as well. Bethany has been a “mom” since she was my CIT at camp so many years ago! God WILL work in this situation!

Leave a Reply

