The Birthday Party Post

(Please Note: All the good photos in this blog post were taken by my sister. Yes, that’s right, all the good photos. The rest were taken by me. Once you see them I think it will be fairly clear which is which. :))

Baby S turned 1 a couple of weeks ago, so it was time to par-tay! We invited the grandparents, aunts & uncles over and had a fun evening.

I decided on a “flower/garden” theme for the party. I’d originally envisioned a room decorated with tons of homemade tissue paper flowers like these ones from Badgers On the Loose, and a cupcake stand full of beautifully decorated pastel cupcakes much like the ones on the front of my Magnolia Bakery cookbook:

(except with some cute little candy flowers kind of like the ones on the cupcakes pictured here. )

Alas, reality hit. The party ended up coming at the tail end of a crazy week, and, long story short, I ended up with only 4 hours free before the party to prepare dinner, bake the cupcakes, decorate the cupcakes, and decorate. And clean. So…with all of the craziness, the paper flowers ended up becoming an activity for the guests (which they did a better job with than I would have, anyway :)) :

…and the cupcakes ended up looking a little gloppy since I decorated them all in, like, 5 minutes…

…but we still had a lovely time celebrating the most important part of the event: sweet baby S!


(OH! And I should tell you about the cake. Did you know that Lunds offers free first birthday cakes? We got one and used it as S’s own personal cake to destroy (though, I admit, I snuck a piece or two from the untouched side of it…once the party was over, of course :)). Anyway, they are beautifully decorated, custom ordered, and absolutely delicious! All you need to do is bring your baby’s birth certificate in to the bakery to prove your babies birthdate, and you are all set to order! Quite a deal that I would highly recommend.)

Anyway, all in all a great time…though I’m still working on accepting the fact that my baby is 1!!!

5 responses to “The Birthday Party Post

  1. Your party looked lovely and Baby S looks like she charmed everyone with her pixie looks! Happy Bday!

  2. She is soooo precious!!! 🙂

  3. Nikki! What a cutie! Cute party! Love it!

  4. I LOVE it Nikki!! The cupcakes are adorable and what a perfect craft for her guests. I can’t believe she is one!! Happy Birthday Baby S!

  5. Pingback: Favorite Things Cake «

Leave a Reply

