Mall Observations

Observation #1: 2 women waiting in line for elevator: one middle-aged woman talking on her cell-phone, not visibly incapacitated in any sort of way, and one young mom with a stroller and a baby. Elevator opens. Occupants exit. Cell-phone lady hurries in. The doors begin to close. Stroller woman hurriedly struggles to get into the elevator. Cell-phone lady too busy on her phone to stop and hold the doors. Doors close. Stroller mom is stuck outside the elevator.

Observation #2: Busy parking lot. Rainy day. I have a coveted spot under the roof. I am in the process of packing the kids in the car to go home. A driver decides she wants my spot. She stops and puts her signal on.  At this point I am engaged in a small battle to get Child A to sit in her car-seat without screaming and arching her back so I can buckle her in. Child B is still sitting in the double stroller, needing to be packed in the car. Then I need to put my shopping bag/purse in the car. Then I need to fold up the double stroller and put it in the trunk. It will be a few minutes. Still, the car waits for my spot. Cars begin lining up behind her. 3…4…5. Horns are about to blare, I can feel it. 3 times I signal for her to move along. Finally she does. Phew.  I can’t take that kind of pressure.

Conclusion: The general public needs to undergo some sort of “stroller training”. Or an advertising campaign should be commissioned. “Start seeing strollers”, perhaps?

3 responses to “Mall Observations

  1. Ahh, yes. I remember those days well. In another few years you will add another one who is not in the stroller, but supposed to hang on to it, then lets go and starts to run away. You will have to determine whether to let the stroller sit where it is and catch said run-away child, or maneuver the stroller with you while you try to catch said run-away child; and while you waste precious seconds contemplating this dilemma, said run-away child is furiously giggling and gaining distance away from you. And you will draw a crowd of on-lookers, usually grandmotherly looking women who will sadly shake their heads and mutter under their breath (but loud enough for you to hear) “When I had young kids we taught them to mind!” Enjoy it while it lasts!

  2. I totally get what you mean. Jon calls people like that “oblivions.” It is so hard pushing around a double stroller — and if yours is anything like mine, it weighs a ton and is not easy to maneuver (granted, my kids are 2 and 4, and their combined weight is about 80 lbs, not including the weight of the stroller) — so having someone actually notice you and make a gesture to help you in any way is SUCH a blessing!

    I also have been in the same situation where a car is waiting for my parking spot while I’m loading the kids into our car. It’s frustrating! But I just think, “They can see my situation, and they will need to be patient or move on!”

    The hardest thing for me in those situations is to be gracious and not let my face show my annoyance! 🙂

    • Exactly. 🙂 I know there are reasons that those little tests are put in our lives. And I must say that the elevator mom (who was not me) handled the situation MUCH more graciously than I probably would have!

Leave a Reply

