Favorite Things Cake

W’s birthday is coming up next week, and we have a little family party planned for Saturday night.

Now I am big on the “theming” part of my kids parties. I love coming up with a theme and creative ideas to use for my kids’ parties — particularly for the cake. Two years ago we had a puppy dog party…last year it was Cars (the movie)…and S’s last birthday party had a garden theme.

So naturally, this year I expected to have another single theme. I wondered what it would be. I thought about what W has been into lately. Farm animals? Toy Story? Legos? Lots of elaborate ideas came to mind. Then I asked W what he wanted to be on his cake.

Well, he wants a favorite things cake — that is, a cake featuring elements of several of his favorite things.

So much for my single-theme plan!

He’s been pretty insistent that this is what he wants, though, so I am rising up to the challenge (er, trying to at least!).

So tonight I decided to ask him what exactly he would like on his “Favorite Things” cake. Here is the list we came up with:

  • Crayons
  • Toy Story
  • Cars
  • Farm Animals
  • Star Wars
  • Legos
  • Waffles
  • Paper Towels
  • Napkins
  • Thomas the Tank Engine
  • Chips
  • Apple Juice
  • Mater (*made out of chocolate)
  • Fire Engine

Hmmm. I truly do have a challenge ahead of me. We shall see how this goes…yikes.

(and yes, he was pretty insistent about the “paper towels” and “napkins” thing. It’s actually not the first time he’s mentioned them when I asked what he wanted on his favorite things cake…so I guess we’ll keep ’em…?)

Ay-yay-yay…. 🙂

4 responses to “Favorite Things Cake

  1. Who doesn’t like paper towels? They are both versatile and absorbent!

  2. That is so cute. I’m excited to see what you come up with.

  3. Cn’t wait to see your masterpiece!!!! Those napkins will be the perfect touch 🙂

  4. That made me laugh this morning! I can’t wait to see the photo of My Favorite Things Birthday Cake. If you pull this one off, you may have to go into the kids birthday theme cake business!!! LOL Enjoy your party!

Leave a Reply

